Second Place Win at VCIC Regional Finals for Undergraduate U-M Team

February 10, 2020

Congratulations to the University of Michigan undergraduate team that earned a second place finish at the 2020 Undergraduate Venture Capital Investment Competition (VCIC) Regional Finals. Sophomores Shiv Dave (BBA ‘22),, Sapan Patel (BS Econ/Org Psych ‘22), Kanav Mahajan (BBA ‘22), Shradha Reddy (BSE Computer Science ‘22), Kelly Kwan (BSE IOE ‘22), and Sara Ng (BBA ‘22) represented U-M for the competition hosted at Chicago Booth.

Global VCIC is the world’s largest venture capital competition with over 70 universities competing. At VCIC, graduate and undergraduate student teams play the role of investors who have approximately $100MM to invest in one of the startups presenting at the competition. The students assess the investment opportunities and pitch an investment strategy to the VC judges.

Prior to advancing to the 2020 VCIC Undergraduate Regional Finals, these sophomores participated in the 2020 Michigan Investment Challenge (MIC) hosted by the Zell Lurie Institute. MIC is a multi-round investment competition open to U-M graduate and undergraduate students. Two teams, one undergraduate and one graduate, are chosen to represent the University of Michigan at the intercollegiate VCIC Regional Finals events. An additional team of students is then selected to award a $2,000 cash prize to a student-led startup during the Michigan Business Challenge (MBC), as part of the over $100,000 in cash prizes awarded during the entrepreneurial competition.

The Zell Lurie Institute offers many opportunities for students to engage in venture capital. From five student-led investment funds to the Center for Venture Capital and Private Equity Finance, U-M students are immersed in the world of venture investing.

Congratulations again to our undergraduate team on their second place win. On February 21, the graduate team will travel to University of Texas – Austin to compete. Follow the Michigan Business Challenge to discover which student startup the MIC Investment Committee will select for the 2020 MIC prize.